IAS Exam 2019 Overview & Eligibility

IAS Exam Overview & Eligibility, Age Limit, Number Attempts 2019

IAS-2019:  The Union Public Services Commission conducts the test for IAS exams, for the services which comprises of IAS, IFS, IRS, and IPS, and those services which are included in Group A and Group B. This is popularly known as UPSC exam. IAS exam is deemed as the hardest examination in India. The number of candidates appearing this exam is increasing every year. The exam has three phases:

  • Preliminary exams- which consist of Two-Objective papers (Held in June)
  • Main Examinations- consisting of Nine papers -Essay type (Held in October)
  • Interview –known as personality test (Held in March) 

The training of the qualified candidates begins from the month of September, subsequently.

IAS Exam 2019 Overview

Particulars Details
Name of the Examination IAS Exam (Civil Service Examination)
Official website https://upsc.gov.in/
Examination conducted by UPSC
Examination Level National
Examination category Graduates
Exam Periodicity Yearly
Scope of IAS IAS,IFS, IRS and IPS
Services which are included in Group A and Group B
Number appearing (till 2018) More than 8 Lakh
Qualifying candidates per year 1000-1500 candidates

IAS Eligibility 2019

IAS exam has certain clear defined eligibility criteria for the candidates preparing to appear should meet. The criteria are enumerated below:

Eligibility Criteria Details
Qualification Must hold a degree from any University which is included within the Act of Parliament, or from those Universities which has been considered by the University Grant Commission.
Must hold a qualification equivalent for IAS exam.
Those with professional and technical degree are eligible too
Those waiting for the declaration of graduation exams, are eligible for IES Prelims Exam, but have to prove the degree whilst appearing for IES Mains exam
Age limit
(21-32 years, as of 1st August)
There are certain relaxation if you are under the following:
SC or ST- Maximum up to 5 years
OBC- Maximum up to 3 years.
Domiciled for the states of  Jammu and Kashmir (1st January, 1980- 31 Dec,1989) – maximum up to 5 years
Defense Services Personnel disabled in operation- Maximum up to 3 years
Ex-servicemen with 5 years of services- maximum of 5 years
ECOs/SSCOs with 5 years of services- maximum up to 5 years.
Blind, deaf/mute or handicapped- maximum up to 10 years
Nationality Must be an Indian
Citizen of Bhutan or Nepal
Should be of Indian origin- migrated from the countries of Pakistan, Myanmar, , Zaire, Ethiopia, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi or Vietnam( desiring to live permanently in India)
Number of attempts General-6
ST/SC- unlimited  attempts until the age of 37 years


Check also important resources to prepare and practice IAS exam 2019

Copyright © 2016 Education Blog for Students all rights reserved.